936 East Desert Hills Drive
Saint George, Utah 84790
T: 435.628.0001
F: 435.674.6477

           

Community Council

General Information

The Desert Hills Middle School Community Council serves as an advisory group to our school and is comprised of parents, teachers, and administrators.  The Council assists and provides guidance in the development of our school improvement plan and oversees the distribution of State Learning and Nurturing Development (LAND) Trust Funds.  Members are nominated and elected for two-year terms.  Those wishing to view the complete school plan for State LAND Trust Funds can view it at www.schoollandtrust.org.

Any parents interested in placing their names on the ballot for Community Council may e-mail: ron.sharp@washk12.org or come into the school office. Thank you.

The plan for LAND Trust Funds at Desert Hills Middle has two major dimensions:

  1. Enrich all classrooms to enhance learning for all students
  2. Support and enhance the Professional Learning Community at Desert Hills Middle School

Thank you for your interest in serving on the LAND Trust Community Council at Desert Hills Middle School. There is money that needs to be spent at our school and we need YOU to help us determine how to spend it!

2020-21 Meeting Schedule

  • October 6, 2020, 1:00 pm in DHMS Conference Room | Agenda Minutes
  • December 8, 2020, at 1:00 pm in DHMS Conference Room | Agenda | Minutes
  • Spring 2021, at 1:00 pm in DHMS Conference Room | Agenda | Minutes

2020-21 Community Council Members

Role Name Email Phone
Parent Robin Dixon robin.dixon@washk12.org

Parent

Gabbi Young gabbi.young@washk12.org
Parent Roxanne Bryant roxbryant@hotmail.com
Parent Jordan Sessions jordan.sessions@gmail.com
Parent Patrick Dunlavey psdunlavey@gmail.com
School Mindi Cella mindi.cella@washk12.org  435-628-0001
School  Krista Turner krista.turner@washk12.org  435-628-0001
Principal Ron Sharp ron.sharp@washk12.org  435-628-0001
Assistant Principal Luke Rowley luke.rowley@washk12.org 435-628-0001

Funding Report

School Year Funds Allocated
2020-21 $87,401.00
2019-20 $78,803.00
2018-19 $68,013.00
2017-18 $98,993.00
2016-17 $70,366.00

School LAND Trust Yearly Plans

2019 – 2020 Desert Hills Middle School LAND Trust Report

2018 – 2019 Desert Hills Middle School LAND Trust Report

2017 – 2018 Desert Hills Middle School LAND Trust Report

2016 – 2017 Desert Hills Middle School LAND Trust Report

2015 – 2016 Desert Hills Middle School LAND Trust Report

Important Links

DHMS Rules of Procedure – Community Council

School LAND Trust Program Administration – USBE

2020 Welcome Back Video – USBE

Prior Year Reports and Spending – USBE

Digital Citizenship and Safe Technology – WCSD

Previous Meetings

  • March 24, 2020, 1:00 pm in DHMS Conference Room | Agenda | Minutes
  • December 18, 2019, at 1:00 pm in DHMS Conference Room | Agenda | Minutes
  • September 25, 2019, at 1:00 pm in DHMS Conference Room | Agenda | Minutes
  • March 20, 2019, 1:00 pm in DHMS Conference Room | Agenda | Minutes
  • September 25, 2018, at 1:00 pm in DHMS Conference Room | Agenda | Minutes
  • October 19, 2017, at 9:00 am in DHMS Conference Room | Agenda | Minutes
  • March 23, 2017, at 2:00 pm in DHMS Conference Room | Agenda | Minutes
  • October 20, 2016, at 2:00 pm in DHMS Conference Room | Agenda | Minutes

Contact Us

936 Desert Hills Drive East
St. George, UT 84790
Phone: (435)628-0001